Lichgates: Book One of the Grimoire Trilogy by S.M. Boyce

lichgatesWhat a great and fun story!  I was very intrigued by the initial write-up I saw on this book and it met my expectations.  I’ll admit I was hoping for a bit more to happen between Kara and Braeden – but it looks like we might be heading in that direction in the next couple of books in the series – so I can’t wait to see what happens next.

Lichgates are portals between the different sects of Ourea, a magical kingdom that Kara happens to fall in – literally.  Turns out that she now belongs to this world and is The Vagabond, a character with the great responsibility of bringing peace and reuniting the different parts of the Ourea world.  It’s a fun world to read through and I really enjoyed the description of the worlds and enjoyed how different yet similar all the people were.

One aspect of the story that I really enjoyed and appreciated was the development of the Kara character.  Starting from a scared, unsure College student and developing into  someone who is much more sure of herself and is willing to take the risks despite the danger to herself.  Living through the tragedies in her life and being thrown into an unknown and dangerous world may have played a role here – but it could have been just as easy to develop this character as a female who depends on a male protagonist – and I love how that just hasn’t happened!

Recommended
Ages: 12 and up


Favourite quote(s):

” ‘…Do you know what its clover symbol means?’
… The Vagabond told me once that it represents the four primary roads you can take in life: happiness, hatred, success, and failure…’:  (p. 57)

” ‘ The world goes on, boy, despite how desperately we may want it to stop for just a moment so we can catch our breath.’      (p. 155)


Boyce, S.M. (2011) Lichgates: Book One of the Grimoire Trilogy.  Galley downloaded from NetGalley.com

Author website:  http://www.smboyce.com/
Book website:  http://www.thegrimoirebooks.com/

3 thoughts on “Lichgates: Book One of the Grimoire Trilogy by S.M. Boyce

      • Please do! I’ll be on a lookout for your email. If you would, please add your name to that signup list for Heritage. (It’s just easier for me to keep track that way.) When you email me, please let me know what file type you would like. I’ll send it right over. Thanks!

Leave a comment