Book Blogger (Jan 14-17)

Book Blogger HopA BOOK PARTY!!  Book Blogger Hop is hosted by Crazy For Books – please come along and join the Party!


This week’s question  comes from Barb who blogs at  

 

“Why do you read the genre that you do?  What draws you to it?”

Hmmm…  what a great question!  I am currently only reading Young Adult books and that started about 1.5 years ago.  Before that I would read Adult murder-mystery and romance (Nora Roberts was my hero then 🙂  ).  I can’t say with any certainty what drew me to YA, maybe the need to try to understand a bit more about what grabs our kids today or the easy & fun reading or if I’m really truthful with myself…  it’s an escape!  Living someone else’s adventures!  It’s also a great conversation platform and a great way to get my girls reading 🙂


21 thoughts on “Book Blogger (Jan 14-17)

  1. I think the idea of reading books with your kids is great. It gives you a way to broach topics in a general way, not, “You can’t date til your 104!” but, “do you think so-and-so was mature enough to handle dating you-know-who?” THEN you can say “You can’t date til your 104!” 😉
    Now following you on twitter. I have noted that some wordpress blogs have a GFC widget.
    I read PNYA/UF,Adult PNR and erotic PNR or UF – not for kids! But would love to have you swing by!
    Fangs, Wands and Fairy Dust
    email: steph@fangswandsandfairydust.com
    twitter: @fangswandsfairy

  2. I’ve been reading a lot of YA as of late but my favorite genres are still urban fantasy and paranormal romance. I like my books to have some steamy chapters to them that YA simply can’t provide! Thanks for stopping by for FF, I’m returning the hop and am your newest follower. Have a great weekend! 🙂

    Carmel @ Rabid Reads
    Enter my Wolfish Giveaway!

  3. Thanks for stopping by my blog! I’m a huge fan of YA as well thought I can’t entirely say what draws me to teen books in general, it’s just a thriving market at the moment and I can’t get enough:) Hope you have a great weekend!

  4. I’m definitely hoping my love of YA books rubs off on my daughter when she gets to that age. She’s just 6 now and already a little book worm so lets hope that continues. She has one awesome library to inherit!

    • It is a toss-up. My youngest gets a little protective over some of the books she reads – in that she doesn’t want me reading them. But every once in a while there’s this fantastic book that I just have to read!

  5. Thanks for dropping by my blog, and yay for Canadians! 😀 YA does provide a fantastic escape – and it’s great to hear it’s also a conversation starter for you guys!

  6. Great answer! I started reading a lot of YA after I took a class where we had to read 25 YA books. That was the year I first read Stephenie Meyer and Sarah Dessen among other popular YA authors and I haven’t stopped reading it.

    Thanks for visiting my blog during the hop!

Leave a comment