Ashes by Ilsa J. Bick

Oh this was a great book but very scary at the same time….  To think that this type of event could actually happen to us, now, anytime…  I think this is what really made it scary and so real!!  Ok I have to admit that I would pick up this book read it, fall in love with it, encounter a tough part and put it aside for a while until I could regroup and restart.  It was a great book, yet scary and ugly all at the same time.

So what was it all about?  Here’s the Summary from Goodreads – much better than I could say today 🙂  :

“An electromagnetic pulse flashes across the sky, destroying every electronic device, wiping out every computerized system, and killing billions.

Alex hiked into the woods to say good-bye to her dead parents and her personal demons. Now desperate to find out what happened after the pulse crushes her to the ground, Alex meets up with Tom—a young soldier—and Ellie, a girl whose grandfather was killed by the EMP.

For this improvised family and the others who are spared, it’s now a question of who can be trusted and who is no longer human.”

I just love the interactions between the 3 main characters and the situations they’ve created and found themselves in – how they truly pull together at times to survive  – and the world and its new societies play havoc on your sense of trust.

Here’s the first Interview with the author – where she talks about the heroine, Alex:

Highly recommeded
Ages: 16 and up

I know, I know – why am I saying 16 this time around – because I’m not convinced that the younger crowd would be able to appreciate and understand the meanings of this book.  Hmm…  what grade and how old were we when we had to read Lord of the Flies by William Golding?  Maybe the Mom in me is becoming too soft in my “old age”.


Favourite quote:

Unfortunately I never captured any before my time ran out 😦


Bick, Ilsa J. (2011). Ashes. Advanced Reader’s e-proof from Net Galley.

Author website:  http://www.ilsajbick.com/

Leave a Reply

