Silver and Stone (Bloodlines #1) by J.D. Thompson

Ah!  If it wasn’t for the workday – I would have read this in one sitting!  It was fantastic!  Kept me guessing until the very end – I had no idea what Alexi was or who Lucas really was until the very end of the book.  The anxiety of the story kept building and building and came to a great climax… and there were no give away moments that ruined the surprise for me.

Alexi is starting her senior year at Weatherford Preparatory School but has been playing hermit the entire summer because of her Mother’s death.  She’s scoffed at and ostracized by many of her “friends”…  Her whole world changed the day her Mom died… but now Lucas Alexander has stepped into her life and has re-awakened her heart.  But things are not always what they seem to be…..

Just to reiterate – I really enjoyed this story – it was easy to read and kept me guessing throughout the book.  The only drawback…  once the mystery was revealed to me I wondered whether I’d read something similar before..  After thinking about it a bit more – not the same but a bit similar…  however I still LOVED this story and am looking forward to the next installment, Blood and Champagne.

I also LOVE to read novels created by fellow Canadians 🙂

Highly recommended
Ages: 14 and up


Favourite quote:

”  ‘Unfortunately, the universe wasn’t built to grant wishes.  And as for God, well…  He doesn’t bother answering any personal requests.  All we have are a series of predetermined events handed to us like cards, summing up the buil of what we call life.’ ”     p.36


Thompson, J.D. (2011). Silver and Stone (Bloodlines #1).  Smashwords Edition.  ebook.  Provided by the author.

Leave a Reply

