Variant by Robinson Wells

EEK! This has got to be one of my absolute favourite books I’ve read so far this year!  Benson Fisher, just received a scholarship to Maxfield Academy, a private institution that he believed was his answer to everything.  He was seventeen, only a few months till he was an adult and could leave the Foster family system forever.  However, the offer from Maxfield Academy could take him away from all his worries and give him an education now…

Well…  nothing could have been further from the truth.  Maxfield Academy turned out to be a prison of sorts, one that no one was willing to see, one where everything wasn’t what it appeared to be on sight.  Upon arrival, Ben had to choose which gang he would align with, which determined who he could and could not befriend.  So…  what do you do when you start to fall for someone and you’re desperately trying to escape at the same time?  You learn a LOT of very HARD lessons.

I thought this was a fantastic book!  Think of it as a modern-day Lord of the Flies…  with a whole modern-day techie twist to it 🙂  The writing style kept me coming for more…  the unknowns kept me wanting more…  and our main character Ben and the influence he had on the population of Maxfield Academy made me crave more.  Absolutely fantastic!  I will also say that I have not read a book in a very long time where the ending COMPLETELY surprised me!  Never, never, never have I been so unprepared for that ending!  So – of course I CANNOT wait for the next installment!

Highly recommended
Ages: 14 and up


Favourite quotes:

Oh well…  this was one of these books that I got so wrapped up in that I didn’t stop to catch any quotes…  Sorry!


Wells, Robinson. (2011). Variant. HarperCollins Publishers. Advanced Reader’s e-proof from Net Galley.

Author website: http://www.robisonwells.com/

Leave a Reply

