Forever by Maggie Stiefvater

Oh no! It’s over… the story about the Mercy Falls wolves is really over 😦  WOW – I can’t believe it!  Maggie Steifvater did an awesome, awesome job at keeping me so engrossed in the last book of this series – that ya…  I am sad it’s over – but am very pleased with how it ended.  I know that sounds wierd.  But YOU know what it’s like when a story either drags on forever…  or ends with so many loose ends that you never feel any sort of closure – well… that’s not the case here.

I LOVED IT!!!  So if any of you have not read the first two books:  Shiver or Linger beware I’m going to say some things that could really ruin it – so jump ahead to the next paragraph!  In Shiver we saw Grace finally meet her wolf, Sam and their struggle to keep Sam human…..  then in Linger we saw Sam human but Grace move into the world of wolves…  Now with Forever – we see the habitants of Mercy Falls hunger for the wolves to be gone – with Isabel’s father at the head of the posse.  Oh it was a struggle and I loved every minute of it.  I loved how Cole’s character really shone through in this book and I’ll never ever forget how he changed.  Love it! Love it! Love it!!

So if you’ve successfully avoided my plot spoilers and jumped to here!  And…  If you haven’t had the chance to read this trilogy yet – I highly recommend it!  It is not your usual midnight-turn-into-werewolf kind of story.  It truly is a unique and lovely series.

Here is a youtube video of Maggie Steifvater reading from Forever…  Wonderful!!!


Favourite quotes:

“I’d never had a speeding ticket.  Having a hotshot lawyer father with anger-management issues was a fantastic deterrent;  usually just imagining his face when he heard the news kept me safely under the limit.  Plus, out here, there wasn’t really any point to speeding.  It was Mercy Falls, population: 8.  If you drove too fast, you’d find yourself through Mercy Falls and out the other side.”          p. 41

“Removing the lids, I looked at the contents.  One of them was something that smelled suspiciously healthy.  Green tea, maybe, or possible horse pus.  The other one was coffee.”               p. 91

“….I felt a surging sensation of rightness, of saying the right thing at the right time to the right person, that too-rare sensation of having the right thing to say and believing it, too:….”         p. 92


Stiefvater, Maggie. (2011). Forever.  New York, NY: Scholastic Press.

Author’s Wolves of Mercy Falls website:  http://www.maggiestiefvater.com/shiver/index.php

Leave a Reply

