Secrets and Shadows by Shannon Delany

Wow it’s been a full year since I’ve read the first in the 13 to Life series… Almost to the day! 13 to Life was the first story about Jessie and Pietr.  If you’ve read my first post you’ll see that I was taken aback by the ending – solely because I didn’t realize it was the first book in a series.  When the second book Shadows and Secrets came out in hard cover I decided that I’d wait until it came out in soft cover – I have to try to save a bit of money 🙂 .  But then I waited quite a while to buy it – can’t say why…  and now that I’ve read it I’m disappointed in myself that I waited so long..  but on the other hand – I only have less than a month to wait till the next book Bargains and Betrayals comes out 🙂 So I guess my subconscious was telling me to wait because it KNEW I would want the next one asap!!!

Since it had been a year since I read 13 to Life it did take me a while to get back into the story and remember all the characters – and NO…  I didn’t go back to my blog to reread my thoughts on the first book – now that would have been thinking….  In any case, I loved this almost as much as I loved the first book!  It’s amazing how young loves can make their lives so difficult eh?  I really enjoy the whole twist of this series – that the Rusakovas’ lives are all tied to that magical age of 13.  The plot was fantastic!  All these “extra” characters who ended up playing a MAJOR role in the plot!  I don’t know how authors do this!!!  It was awesome!  Here I am thinking that Mrs Feldman was just a crazy woman and Whoa…  she’s no crazy lady…  But I won’t tell you who she is – that would be spoiling things – so go read it yourself!

I hope you enjoy this book as much as I did!  Less than a month to wait for the next one!  YIPPEE!!!

Highly recommended

Ages: 14 and over


Favourite quote:

“No one gives librarians the credit they deserve,”  I snapped.  “Yes. She works in the reference department and is a gun-toting government agent.”

“Of course,”  Dr. Jones said, still smiling. “So. Creative, and probably with a large number of overdue books causing you to be creatively suspicious about librarians.  Interesting.”             p. 7


Delany, Shannon. (2011).  Secrets and Shadows.  New York, NY:  St Martin’s Griffin.

Author website:  http://www.shannondelany.com/

Leave a Reply

