Thoughts on a rating scale?

Ok so I’ve been reading and “reviewing” YA books for what now….  1.5 years?  WOW I never thought I would keep this up when I started it.  Remember this was all part of a YA course requirement – I remember thinking at the beginning of this project that there was no way I’d be able to or be comfortable with writing my thoughts about a book in such a potentially public forum!  Well…  I don’t know what I was thinking back then – because I absolutely LOVE doing this.  Yes there are times where life gets in the way – but most of the time this is such a great release valve for all the other “stuff” life throws at me.

So…  I’ve been thinking and if anyone is reading this I would love to hear your thoughts on this.  Many book bloggers incorporate a rating system into their reviews.  Now…  I’ve been pretty free with my “reviews” or rather my thoughts on my books until now.  No rating scale other than Highly recommended, Recommended, and Not Recommended.  I’m wondering whether it’s time to make it a bit more robust????

Being a statistician and data person during the day – yes I work with numbers ALL day and I LOVE it!!!  I’m beginning to think about a 5 point rating scale?  Seems that everyone does this and from the day-job perspective I like!  Gives me that middle-ground leeway 🙂

However, the point of this post was to see what others thought about this?  Do you have or incorporate a rating scale on your blog?  Do you think that a rating scale will affect an individual’s desire to pick up a book or not?  I would love to hear what your thoughts are on this as I continue to contemplate the merits of a rating scale on the Pineapples&Pyjamas blog.

Thanks and I look forward to your thoughts!

Leave a Reply

