What do I recommend?

Oh my goodness…. my oldest daughter wants to read a book! I know I shouldn’t be surprised since she was an avid reader for a really long time. However… all you Moms out there will know that when your daughters get caught up in the high school social life… well… reading and other academic endeavours often fall to the side. Reading for pleasure never made her priority list during high school – but now that she’s finished her first year of University and has time on her hands between her 2 part-time jobs – she’s informed me that she wants to read a book – and I’m to provide her with “said” book.

So…  what do I recommend?  She tells me that she likes the real life type stories… so looking through all the books I’ve read to date here are my recommendations:

Eek…  wonder what she’ll think?  Her first thought will be “Mom that’s TOO many!”  So…  knowing this – I’m probably going to recommend Wintergirls by Laurie Halse Anderson  to start and see where it takes us.

What books would you recommend if your oldest daughter asked you the same question?

4 thoughts on “What do I recommend?

    • Both awesome books! 🙂

      Once she decides I’ll have to let you know – it will be interesting to see….

      Thanks for dropping by…

  1. You have a great list here of all the top contemporary authors. If I Stay is a favorite of mine and my daughter. If she wants to try something light and romantic I would recommend Anna and the French Kiss by Stephanie Perkins. That one is universally loved.
    Hope she finds a great summer read!

    • I haven’t had the chance to read Anna and the French Kiss yet – I’ll mention it to her – then I can read it too 🙂

      Thanks!

Leave a Reply

