Meridian by Amber Kizer

Young Adult authors or maybe authors in general, hard to say that though since I’m only reading YA now 🙂  Sorry – back to my train of thought – amaze me!  Their imagination and story telling gifts are truly awesome!  Can I or really can many of us come up with these really cool storylines?  Why am I going on here?  The whole notion of a Fenestra (and I LOVE that name – latin for window – how apropos) is wonderful, mysterious and just so cool!  I love ghost stories and stories about souls – and this one just fits in there so nicely.  I feel like I’ve just found that last missing piece of a jigsaw puzzle.  Wonderful!!!

So what am I really talking about…  Meridian has been surrounded by death all her life.  Animals come to find her to die next to her.  It’s a life she’s just come to accept – she wishes she was normal but that just doesn’t seem to be possible.  Her sixteenth birthday arrives and her parents ship her off to her Great Aunt without any warning.  They tell her they love her and send her away…  Once Meridian arrives at her Great Aunt’s place, she learns about who she really is or rather what she is – a Fenestra – a window through which souls pass through.  I’ll stop there because it’s a love story and a fantastical story that just grabbed me from the start and never once did it let me down.  Awesome!!!

Highly recommended – especially if you’re looking for something a little different, exciting and fun to read!

Ages: 14 and up


Favourite quotes:

‘ “Little one, human beings always take the path of least resistance.  It’s the few, the very few, who are willing to stand up to anything,” Auntie said grimly. ‘   p. 153

‘….”What good is a quilt if it’s unused?  The same as a life unused.  They’re meant to be wrung out and frayed around the edge.  That’s the way of things.  Always has been.  Always will be.”  ‘       p. 258


Kizer, Amber. (2009). Meridian.  New York, NY: Delacorte Press.

Author website:  http://www.amberkizer.com/

Leave a Reply

