The Sky is Everywhere by Jandy Nelson

What an absolutely beautiful story!  Had me smiling and in tears all at the same time.  Lennie Walker lost her sister and her best friend , Bailey, and is lost.  How do you continue existing when all you’ve ever known is gone and changed forever.  Lennie shares her grief with Toby, Bailey’s boyfriend, and takes it too far.  Then along comes new boy, Joe Fontaine, who makes her laugh and smile – but is she allowed to have fun when her sister can’t anymore?  Lennie really struggles with her new life and you’re taken along with her.  I’ve felt her loss, her heartache, her betrayal and her love.  A truly amazing tale!

I really enjoyed the poems strewn throughout the book and LOVE how it all comes together in the end.  The author, Jandy Nelson, has a MFA in poetry and I think  it’s wonderful how she was able to pull the poetry into this book.  Ok ok – are you convinced yet?  If not keep reading.  Turns out that Lennie is a clarinetist – hmmm…  those of you that know me… know that I used to be a clarinetist way back when – so there was a nice link for me.  The story has so many ties to music and literature – but it’s done in a way that doesn’t turn you off if you’re not familiar with either.  Convinced yet?  Oh heck – just go read it – I promise you, you will not be disappointed – but remember the kleenex if you’re anything like me 🙂

Highly Recommended

Ages: 14 and up

You know me and my Book Trailers – here are 2 of them – one from PenguinGroupUSA and the second from WalkerBooks UK.  I know which one I like better – do you have  a preference?


Favourite Quotes:

“She’s a sun-kissed beach girl who goes gothgrungepunkhippierockermocoremetalfreakfashionistabraingeekboycrazyhiphoprastagirl to keep it under wraps.”    p. 45

“I put aside for a moment the fact that I’ve turned into a total strumpet-harlot-trollop-wench-jezebel-tart-harridan-chippy-nympher because I’ve just realized something incredible.  This is it – what all the hoopla is about, what Wuthering Heights is about – it all boils down to this feeling rushing through me in this moment with Joe as our mouths refuse to part.”         p. 117

“I heard this expression once: Each time someone dies, a library burns.  I’m watching it burn right to the ground.”        p.152


Nelson, Jandy. (2010). The Sky is Everywhere.  Toronto, ON: Speak.

Author website:  http://www.jandynelson.com/

Leave a Reply

