Leaving Paradise by Simone Elkeles

WOW!  Awesome book!  Ok I’ll admit I was very skeptical when I started because the theme and story behind the book seemed a little familiar.  Since I had just read The Fifth Rule a couple of weeks ago – I thought uh-oh..  another boy hurts girl, goes to jail and fate intervenes and forces them together.  Well…  yes the story may be very similar but this book had a different effect on me – how do I describe it…  Ok Ok – I cried my eyes out on parts – so I guess you could say this book elicited a very strong emotional response from me.

As I’ve noted before – this is a story about boy gets drunk, hurts girls, goes to juvenile detention and as fate would have it, they’re thrown together a year after that fateful night.  However…  this story has a number of twists that make it to irresistible. And no!  I’m not giving any of them away 🙂

Highly recommended

Ages: 14 and up


Favourite quotes:

“… ‘I see.  Well, dearie, maybe one day your luck will change.’
Yeah, right.  All I need is a little magic dust and a fairy godmother.  I’m not holding my breath for either of those.”        p. 77

“I walk over to the boxes and do the spider-scan…..  I don’t even see the spiders.  It’s like they’re undercover spies until their prey struggles, hopelessly stuck in the web.”          p. 137


Elkeles, Simone. (2010). Leaving Paradise. Woodbury, MN: Flux Llewellyn Publications.

Author website:  http://www.simoneelkeles.net/

Leave a Reply

