The Last Apprentice: Revenge of the Witch by Joseph Delaney

I changed gears a bit with this book.  This book was not classified as a Young Adult book in our LIbrary system – but grouped into the Junior Fiction section.  A little surprising to me – that I read it that is!  One of the things that I noticed about the book that struck me as different was the size of the font – I know silly!!!  But reading the book seemed to flow quickly and I suspect the size of the font played a little role.

The story itself was fun!  However I did find that there really wasn’t too much depth to the story – but if we have it classified as a Junior Fiction and not Young Adult – maybe that’s why.  As I noted it was a fun story set quite a while ago when witches, boggarts, ghosts and ghasts were alive and threatening everyone.  The story is about Thomas Ward, the seventh son of a seventh son who is destined to apprentice as a Spook.  What is a Spook you may ask?  Someone who fights off the “bad” spirits.  During Tom’s early time as the Spook’s apprentice, he made 2 critical mistakes and ends up with a witch after him and his family.  Let’s just say he learned alot on the job 🙂

As I mentioned above I enjoyed the story even though it was a little different from the books I have been reading to date – but it was fun.  It flowed easily and was an easy read.  If you’re curious about it – check it out at HarperCollins Children’s Book using their Browse Inside feature.

Check out what Joseph Delaney has to say about his series – Oh did I forget to mention that The Revenge of the Witch is the first is a series…


Favourite Quote:

“… A ghast is like a reflection in a pond that stays behind when its owner has moved on.”          P. 29


Delaney, Joseph.  (2005).  The Last Apprentice: Revenge of the Witch.  New York, NY: HarperCollins Children’s Books.

Series website:  http://www.spooksbooks.com/

Leave a Reply

