After by Amy Efaw

What an absolutely awesome book! When I bought it, the cashier highly recommended it based on her reading experience with Amy Efaw’s other book Battle Dress.  She started telling me about the author and her background and the more she talked the more anxious I was to get home and start this book.  And she was absolutely right – a fabulous read!!

I just found the little blurb on the back cover so intriguing and it really left me hanging…  and well I couldn’t let that get to me – hence why the book made it’s way into my shopping bag.  I don’t do this very often but here’s the back blurb – I would LOVE to hear your thoughts on it:

“Before it all, Devon was a good student, a good athlete, an all-around good girl.  But then IT happened – the thing that was so horrible, so shameful, so impossible to imagine that Devon simply chose not to admit it to anyone, even herself.

But denial can’t make a thing go away, and now Devon’s in a juvenile detention centre, facing a possible life sentence for her actions.

Does she deserve that punishment?  Did she know what she was doing?  Or was her denial so deep that she was unable to register the seemingly unavoidable changes happening to her?

Told with empathy and precision, Devon’s story is a gripping page-turner that will challenge your beliefs about conscience and consciousness.”

By reading this blurb and the opening little blurb  (which I won’t add here but do take a look at it) – I had NO idea what Devon did to land herself in Juvie….  And I’m not going to tell you here either cause that’ll just spoil it for anyone who hasn’t read the book yet.  As I see it, this is a very poignant story about denial and just how deep it can be and the struggles that Devon experiences before she can admit what really happened.  It’s a story that will affect young teenage girls that read it!

It’s a fantastic read – really has you questioning Devon and her motivation at times.  I empathized with her at times and then I think I may have hated her at times too.

Highly recommended
Ages: 16 and up

You know I love those book trailers – here’s one for After


I don’t have any quotes from this book. I couldn’t put it down long enough and I was just so wrapped up in the story that … well one just didn’t pop out at me 😦


Efaw, Amy.  (2009). After. Toronto, ON: Speak, Penguin Group (Canada).
Author website: http://www.amyefaw.com/

Leave a Reply

