Fall for Anything by Courtney Summers

Another great book by Courtney Summers!  Eddie Reeve’s father commits suicide and Eddie finds that she becomes extremely driven and almost obsessed with the need to know WHY he did it. Her mother is so devastated that her friend Beth takes it upon herself to move in with them to bring order back to their lives, but completely ignores the grief that Eddie is experiencing.  During one of Eddie’s midnight tours of the place she found her Dad, she meets Culler Evans and discovers a world that her Dad lived in without his family.  With her great desire and obsession of knowing WHY he committed suicide, Eddie does “Fall for Anything“.  She alienates her best friend and almost loses everything in her hunt for the truth.

I absolutely love the name of the book and I get it!!!  Ok I didn’t get it until the very end – but it’s perfect!  I cannot think of a better title for a very touching story.  Courtney Summers has a great talent of bringing you along the story – allowing you to believe one thing, leading you on to a point where you know what’s happening, and Wham! it turns out you’re wrong.  Everything you believed has been turned upside down and now you’re left wondering how you missed the signs all along!  Hmmm… I’m not sure whether I’m coherent or not – but I’m hoping that those of you that have read Courtney’s books know what I mean – and those who haven’t – trust me!  and read one!  You’ll fall in love with an awesome Canadian author!!

Highly recommended

Ages: 14 and up

Check out my thoughts on Courtney’s other books:

Some Girls Are

Cracked Up To Be


Favourite quote:

”  There’s a tall glass of orange juice at my seat, plus two vitamins.  I’m vitamin-worthy now.  Incredible.  I sit down and stare at them and then I pick up one of the vitamins.  Hold it up and study it.  It’s round and orange.  Wouldn’t it be amazing if it could fix everything?  You put it on your tongue and let it dissolve.  All your emotional trauma will end and that broken, cold dead soul will be alive again!  And all your physical problems will be cured too.  Cancer, illness.  Vitamins made of Nanobots or something, I don’t know.”         p. 58


Summers, Courtney.  (2010)  Fall for Anything.  New York, NY:  St Martin’s Press.

Author website:  http://courtneysummers.ca/

2 thoughts on “Fall for Anything by Courtney Summers

    • All her books cover very real and touching situations – she does an awesome job at drawing you in. I’d recommend any of them! Enjoy!!

Leave a Reply

