ALA Young Media Award winners

Last year when I was an MLIS student – we talked about these awards…  Actually a group of my colleagues did a presentation about them.  So being able to watch the live presentation or rather announcement of this year’s awards was fantastic!  I was able to get in on the live webcast while I was following the tweets of folks actually in the room.  What a great way to get involved even though I was up here in the cold and they were down there in the warm 🙂

There were a couple of people who were tweeting about trying to help patrons and work during the live webcast – yes it was tough!  I’ll admit that I was lucky since my 10:30 appointment finished early so I was able to retreat to my office for the remaining part of the webcast.  But boys oh boys – could you ever feel and hear the energy in the room as the announcements were being made – it was fabulous!  So a BIG thank-you goes out the ALAMW organizers for making that possible.

So the award winners…  Rather than duplicate the list I’m going to link to YALSA’s 2011 Literary Award Winners.

Of the list of winners – I am proud and very pleased to say that I’ve read a couple of them 🙂  Let’s see…

Guardian of the Dead by Karen Healey,  William C. Morris Award nominee
Stolen by Lucy Christopher,  Michael L. Printz Award Honor book

Hmmm…  Guess that leaves an awful lot of great books that I need to take a closer look at.  The one that I have been interested in and haven’t gotten around to yet – and one that just moved up my TBR list is will grayson,  will grayson by John Green and David Levithan.

Congratulations to all the Winners!!!

Leave a Reply

