Entice by Carrie Jones

OMG!!!  What an awesome book!  I took it into work today to read a bit of it over my lunch hour (New Year’s Resolution was a promise to myself to TAKE a lunch hour and NOT work through it) and ended up finishing it!  What a fantastic read! WARNING:  Spoilers ahead!!!

Captivate left us off with Nick dying…  like really.. what a great cliff hanger!  Entice did such an awesome job at picking the story up right where it left off.  Kids are still disappearing from the Bedford, Maine – the public doesn’t understand it, but Zara and her friends know why and are desperate to find a way to get Nick back to help end this oncoming pixie war.  However, along with trying to find and get to Valhalla, Zara also has to learn how to deal with being a pixie herself – and not just any pixie – Astley’s Queen.  The story held my attention (a lot longer then I should have let it at times 🙂 ) and left me craving for more.  Ugh!  and again I can’t find anything on a fourth book -but we all know it’s coming ……

Zara deals with some real life issues in this book that I think some teens have to deal with today for one reason or another.  What am I talking about?  Acceptance for who they are…  acceptance by their friends and especially by their loved ones.  As I read Entice, there were parts where my heart broke for Zara and I still hope that things will work out for the best in the end – but I can definitely see parallels to a typical teenager today…..  Thanks Carrie for an awesome, awesome book!

Highly recommended

Ages: 14 and up

To review my thoughts on the first two books in the Need series please visit:

Need

Captivate

Here is Bloomsbury’s book trailer for Entice


Favourite quotes:

Let me preamble my list of quotes here by saying there were quite a few parts of this story that really talked to me and I really just want to share some fabulous quotes that literally jumped off the page as I read the book.

“We drive through the darkness on crazy roads, bumping from potholes and frost heaves.  Roads are meant to be smooth paths, straight lines to destinations, but they aren’t like that at all, are they?  Life isn’t like that either.”      p. 28  (Living in Ontario now, but in Nova Scotia and Alberta – smooth roads don’t exist 🙂  )

“You know, life fractures all of us into little pieces.  It harms us, but it’s how we glue those fractures back together that makes us stronger.”          p.  100

“Why do people and pixies and weres lie so much?  Why can’t we all just be honest with each other?  It would be so easy to just not trust anyone ever, but you can’t go through life with a pair of scissors in each hand, snip-snip-snipping away at everything people say or don’t say, can you?”       p. 170


Jones, Carrie. (2010)  Entice.  New York, NY: Bloomsbury.

Author website:  http://www.carriejonesbooks.com/

One thought on “Entice by Carrie Jones

Leave a Reply

