Low Red Moon by Ivy Devlin

Sunday afternoon and  a good book – what does that mean to you??  Yup one book all read 🙂  I really enjoyed Low Red Moon.  It was a thriller and love story all rolled into one.  Avery’s parents were brutally murdered while she was outside the house -but just couldn’t remember what had happened.  She now lives with her grandmother, whom she hasn’t seen in years yet lives just in town.  While trying to grieve for her parents and their lives together, Avery tries to piece together what happened that fateful night.  Along the way she meets Ben Dusic, her hmm….  can we say soul mate?  Their relationship was just fun to watch – I really enjoyed how this played out.  I have to admit that the book kept me on my toes – I didn’t know “who did it” until the very end.  And yes I’ll admit I’m glad that it wasn’t who I initially thought it was 🙂

One thing I found very intriguing and a little spooky at the same time about this book and some of the ones I’ve recently read…  On page 94 we read: “…I still needed to read Milton, finish his long poem about paradise and Satan and temptation and—
And falling from grace.  Losing everything.”

For those of you who have already read Misguided Angel by Melissa De La Cruz and Torment by Lauren Kate – um… do you see a link?  In Misguided Angel we have a whole discussion between Bryce Cutting, a Blue Blood and Paul Rayburn, a merit aid student about their interpretation of Milton’s poem.  Torment – well what’s te premise behind this series?  Fallen angels.  I do remember a reference to Milton in Torment as well but without reading it again I can’t find it at the moment.  I just had to bring this up because it was spooky how the last three authors I had read used the same reference.

Highly recommended

Ages: 14 and up

You know I LOVE book trailers – so here’s BloomsburyPublishing’s trailer for Low Red Moon


Favourite quote:

I was so involved with the book when I read it that I forgot to keep my eyes open for a quote.  Sorry – no quote this time around.


Devlin, Ivy (2010).  Low Red Moon.  New York, NY:  Bloomsbury Books for Young Readers.

Author blog:  http://www.ivydevlin.com/

Leave a Reply

