Trickster’s Girl by Hilari Bell

It took me a while to really get into this book – but as usual once I got there I had a hard time putting it down. Hmmm….  seems like I’m always saying that -but it’s true  -trust me.  I’ll admit that I found the write-up on the story – I don’t know – a bit misleading?  Let’s see here’s the write-up from Goodreads.com:

“In the year 2098 America isn’t so different from the USA of today. But, in a post-9/11 security-obssessed world, “secured” doesn’t just refer to borders between countries, it also refer to borders between states. Teenagers still think they know everything, but there is no cure for cancer, as Kelsa knows first-hand from watching her father die.
The night Kelsa buries her father, a boy appears. He claims magic is responsible for the health of Earth, but  human damage disrupts its flow. The planet is dying.
Kelsa has the power to reverse the damage, but first she must accept that magic exists and see beyond her own pain in order to heal the planet.”

I guess I was expecting something with a bit more punch and action and what I found was a great story dealing with larger environmental issues and questions.  I enjoy these types of stories – you know the ones with a message – although I did finish this book with a feeling of missing something.  I really didn’t like the way it ended – it felt like it never did end – no resolution – was Kelsa successful with her healings?  And the relationship with Raven just stopped …  Will the next fellow be successful?  Hmmm…  I just read up on Hilari Bell’s website that there is a second book in the Raven series called The Traitor’s Son – maybe I’ll get my answers after all – this is great!

Oh I also have to add that as a Canadian – I LOVE the references and comments around the Canada/US border and their differences 🙂

Overall I enjoyed the story but have reservations on the ending.  I would still recommend it and it would be fitting for the younger audience – 12 years and up.


Favourite quote(s):

“The school counselor had told Kelsa that becoming an ‘overcontroller’ was a natural response to the chaos and disruption caused by a death in the family.  She said that as long as Kelsa recognized where her need to control her life and the people around her was coming from, she probably wouldn’t become too big a pain in the ass.”

”  ‘Maybe’, said Raven, ‘the Canadians didn’t want to waste their money on something that doesn’t seem to stop either terrorists or crime.’ ”

Note: since this is a digital galley I will not publish page numbers until I can confirm location in the published novel.


Bell, Hilari. (2010). Trickster’s Girl. Digital galley obtained from NetGalley. Publisher:  Houghton Mifflin Harcourt.

Author website: http://www.sfwa.org/members/bell/

Leave a Reply

