Fallout by Ellen Hopkins

What a great great ending to this story!  For me knowing that it’s based on the author’s own personal experiences adds so much to this experience of this book!  I don’t know whether I’ll capture all the things I loved about this book – but I’m going to give it a try!

First – the story itself, told from the perspective of three of Kristina’s children – her three oldest.  It’s so heart-breaking how each of their lives have been affected so differently and so harshly.  Hunter, her first-born was adopted by his grandparents and lived what appears to be a charmed life but struggles with relationships and avoiding drugs.  Autumn, her second born living with her paternal grandfather and Aunt has never met her mother and only knows that her father is in jail.  She’s a loner and has strong OCD tendencies.  Summer was placed in foster care after her paternal grandparents died and is aware that she has a brother out there.  The three siblings were not aware of each other’s lives and each have their personal struggles that link directly back to Kristina’s dance with the monster.

The free verse that makes up the story is awesome!  I absolutely love how the author makes statements within her verse!  It’s amazing and I have to wonder how long it takes to do that…  The timelines of these three siblings and how they mesh in the end is another aspect of this story that I just find incredible!  Ok I’m going on about this – can you tell how I loved it!  My daughter who got me started on these books loved it just as much as I did.

Highly recommended

Ages:  14 and over


Favourite quotes:

“Like how I feel
right now.  Love
is strange.  One
minute you’re
jungle fever.
The next
you’re Arctic
winter.”           p.  286

“Anger is a valid emotion.  It’s only
bad when it takes control and makes
you do things you don’t want to do.”          p. 490


Hopkins, Ellen.  (2010).  Fallout.  Toronto, ON: Margaret K. McElderry Books.

Author website:  http://www.ellenhopkins.com/

Leave a Reply

