Mockingjay by Suzanne Collins

We all waited for what seems like forever for the last book in the Hunger Games Trilogy.  Was it worth the wait?  Heck YES!!!  I really enjoyed this one as much as I enjoyed the first two.  The action and suspense just never let up.  I was always questioning who was on who’s side and who was faithful and truthful.  It was excellent!

Now with respect to a summary – this always gets tricky doesn’t it?  I don’t want someone reading my synopsis before they’ve read the first two books and I’ve unknowingly said something that spoils it all.  So let’s say it’s the final book in the Hunger Games trilogy, we have the main characters back again, Katniss, Peeta and Gale – their struggles and now the Rebellion against the Capitol.  Is Peeta for the Capitol or against the Capitol?  Is Katniss being played again?

If you do some searching on the web there are bits and pieces about a movie – it’s always tough to decide what is true and what is not – but I found this really cool and poignant video of a Movie Trailer.  Check it out.  I think it does a great job at capturing the essence of this book.

One last note before I leave this book.  YES I would definitely recommend this book and the entire series.  There would be caveats of course, since some of the content can be quite graphic – how graphic will really be up to the reader 🙂

Movie trailer:


Favourite quote:

“What will break me into a million pieces so that I am beyond repair, beyond usefulness?  I mention it to no one, but it devours my waking hours and weaves itself throughout my nightmares.”   p. 113


Collins, Suzanne. (2010).  Mockingjay. New York, NY:  Scholastic Press.  eBook.

Author website: http://www.suzannecollinsbooks.com/

Leave a Reply

