Dark Song by Gail Giles

A very compelling and thought-provoking story.  It was a great book that I read in one sitting.  Couldn’t tear myself away from Ames’ story.  A 15-yr old girl who had everything, the big house, attended a private school and what seemed to be the perfect family life….  until the “buzz” started around town and her father was “let-go” from his corporate job.  Ames’ life then turned upside down and she learned who her family really was.  While their family tries to rebuild, Ames meets Marc, a handy guy to have around the house and the only person that seems to be looking out for her.  But when Ames’ situation comes to a head, who will she believe and who has she become?

A wonderful and frightening story all in one.  The author grabbed me at the start and as I’d mentioned earlier just wouldn’t let me go.  I usually don’t pay too much attention to chapter titles and the length of them – but for some reason they really grabbed my attention in this book – I can’t put my finger on it – but there was something about the titles that reinforced my thoughts and feelings as I read the book.

This would be a great book for folks to read to understand how one can fall from a comfortable life into one that just isn’t right – the dangers and pitfalls.  I would definitely recommend this book  and to an older age group – 14 yrs and up.


Favourite quotes:

“But memories don’t always reveal the whole picture.  And some memories lie.”

“…that my heart would still.  That it would stop drumming for a moment.  Instead it hammered, pounded, and thrummed.  It sang mad music in dorian mode.  Slightly atonal.  I closed my eyes and listened to my heart’s new, strange melody.”

Note: Since this is an ARC I will not publish page numbers until these can be confirmed in the published novel.


Giles, Gail.  (2010).  Dark Song.  New York, NY: Little, Brown and Company.  Advanced Reader’s Copy provided by the Travelling ARC tour blog.

Author website:  http://gailgiles.com/Welcome.html

2 thoughts on “Dark Song by Gail Giles

Leave a Reply

