Incarceron by Catherine Fisher

I’ll admit – I bought this book for my daughter a while ago.  It wasn’t one that really grabbed me when I read the cover…  BUT…  my daughter read it in 2 nights.  So – you know that definitely peaked my interest in it.  Of course, she wouldn’t relinquish the book – it came down to “Mom I don’t want you reading and liking all the books I like!”  Now really, all you moms out there – how silly is that 🙂

It took me a few more nights to read the book, but not for lack of interest and attention.  This was definitely a case of “Don’t judge a book by its jacket blurb.”  I enjoyed the two person perspective (think I may REALLY like this style of writing) – the switching from Claudia to Finn.  So what’s this book about you may be wondering?  Well…  best to start with Claudia, she’s the Warden’s daughter.  The Warden is responsible for Incarceron, a living prison.  A prison created to be a paradise, a belief that everyone on the OUTSIDE believes.  Finn, on the other hand is a prisoner, and lives on the INSIDE.  He’s been identified as a starseer and has vague memories of living on the OUTSIDE.  All anyone wants in Incarceron is to ESCAPE.  With the keys Claudia and Finn find each other and Claudia, along with her teacher, Jared, help Finn and his friends to try and escape.

I really enjoyed this book and understand why my daughter did as well.  You really didn’t know what was going to happen next and by the end of the book, you’re left with a LOT of questions – especially about Sapphique, the only prisoner believed to have escaped Incarceron.

Another aspect of this book that I found great were the little quotes presented at the beginning of each chapter.  In a way, they set the stage for the chapter, but at the same time they provide some history and added intrigue to the whole story.

Recommended

Ages: 13 and over


Favourite quote:

“We forbid growth and therefore decay.  Ambition, and therefore despair.  Because each is only the warped reflection of the other.  Above all, Time is forbidden.  From now on nothing will change.”  – King Endor’s Decree                   p. 171


Fisher, Catherine.  (2010).  Incarceron. New York, NY: Dial Books.

Author website:  http://www.catherine-fisher.com/

One thought on “Incarceron by Catherine Fisher

Leave a Reply

