It All Started with a Dare by Lindsay Faith Rech

A refreshing and funny book!  Oh the situations CG got herself into right from her first day in Beaubridge!  She was SO determined to BE someone in her new high school that she created a whole new person, complete with lies upon lies upon lies.  I have to admit that there were several parts where I found myself shaking my head and laughing at how desperate we can be at times – especially during those formative teenage high school years.  We want SOOOoooo  much to fit in and be a part of the in-group that at times we’ll do just about anything – and that about sums up CG’s motivation behind her new persona.

CG was lucky and became one of the Four Tops (the popular girl group) shortly after arriving at her new school.  When asked to play Truth & Dare at her first sleepover she develops a new twist to the game and starts her way down a path to discovering the new CG.  CG somehow finds herself involved in a love triangle, claiming she’s an alcoholic, and has her friends and her school believing she’s a rebel.  Heck they even start a new fashion fad and attribute it to CG!

I really enjoyed this book – as I noted above it was refreshing and funny yet very true!  I especially enjoyed the language – yes sometimes a little harsh but very frank and to the point – just as I would expect these teens to talk!  This is one of those books I wish all young ladies would take the time to read – I think they could really learn a lot!

Highly recommended

Ages: 14 and up


Favourite quote(s):

“For as cute as he is, for as charming and witty as he appears in print, Bill has got to be the most boring nimrod I’ve ever met in my entire life.”

“No matter how much I might screw up, I never thought either of you would question my character.  I always took for granted that you two would be able to see past my mistakes straight through to the real me, that you’d both always know exactly who I was – even when I wasn’t so sure.”

Note: since this is a digital galley I will not publish page numbers until I can confirm location in the published novel.


Rech, Lindsay Faith.  (2010).  It All Started with a Dare.  Digital galley obtained from NetGalley. Publisher:  Houghton Mifflin Harcourt.

Author website:  http://www.lindsayfaithrech.com/

One thought on “It All Started with a Dare by Lindsay Faith Rech

Leave a Reply

