Linger by Maggie Stiefvater

The second book in Maggie Stiefvater’s trilogy about the wolves of Mercy Falls.  I really enjoy books in a trilogy or a series that pick up where the last one left off and this was one of these great books.  For anyone who has NOT read Shiver beware this review may be a plot spoiler!  I absolutely LOVE how the book started – it’s very first line:  “This is a story of a boy who used to be a wolf and a girl who was becoming one.” It set the stage very nicely but as I read through the book I had to wonder whether it was true or not!  What do I mean?  Well, yes Sam stayed a boy and we experienced all his struggles, his insecurities and his questions – but it took like FOREVER, to see and understand that Grace was indeed moving toward becoming a wolf.

I think for me the length of time it took to get to that part made the story a bit long and drawn out for me.  Mind you about 3/4 of the way through that’s when I couldn’t put the book down!  I really enjoyed the romance and love story part of the first book, Shiver, and I really didn’t get that from this book.  However, now that we know a bit more about these wolves from Cole, I CANNOT wait to see what happens in the third and final installment of this trilogy, Forever.  Of course with a title like that – makes me wonder – forever as wolves or forever as humans????  2011 – really?  ugh a long time to wait.

Overall, I enjoyed reading this book and would recommend it.

Ages:  14 and up

Here’s the book trailer for Linger – beautiful music and artwork!!!

To view my thoughts on Shiver


Favourite quote(s):

“… Life’s pain.  You just have to get over as much of it as you can.”        p. 242

“There was a lot of hushed talking back and forth, with enough technical jargon to gag a maggot……”            p. 340


Stiefvater, Maggie. (2010).  Linger.  New York, NY: Scholastic Press.

Author’s Wolves of Mercy Falls website:  http://www.maggiestiefvater.com/shiver/index.php

One thought on “Linger by Maggie Stiefvater

  1. Pingback: 2010 Young Adult Reading Challenge | Pineapples & Pyjamas – Young Adult Materials

Leave a Reply

