Wildthorn by Jane Eagland

First off what a great and very contentious book!  I have to admit that it took me a while to get into it – but once I did it was REALLY tough to put aside.  Imagine a young lady, 17 years old, living in a time where acting lady-like and looking forward to having a husband and caring for your future children was your only ambition?  I’m not saying this is necessarily wrong BUT… not having the choice of who you really want to be or to have any other ambitions…  now that I CANNOT imagine.

Hmmm…  are you getting the sense that this book struck a nerve with me?  Louisa Cosgrove has been sent to an insane asylum!  Her name is now Lucy Childs and the harder she tries to tell her captors that there has been a mistake – that she’s NOT Lucy Childs but Louisa Cosgrove – her situation deteriorates.  During her stay at Wildthorn Hall she meets Grace, her friend and her saviour.  Grace who reminds her that “Folks do things for all sorts of reasons…” Louisa remains determined to escape Wildthorn while trying to understand why she’s there.

I really liked the way the book was written – switching between the past and the present.  By the time the time periods merged I was sure I knew who was behind Louisa’s predicament, but boy was I shocked to learn the truth!  Amazing!!!

I would definitely recommend this book – but again I would encourage the older crowd to read it.  I think Jane Eagland has done a wonderful job at dealing with so many topics that today’s youth may take for granted – freedom of choice in professions and partners!

Ages: 16 and over


Favourite quote:

” ‘Oh, Lou, you are funny.  You can’t be a hero.’ ‘ Why not?’ ‘Because only men are heroes.’ ”

Note: since this is a digital galley I will not publish page numbers until I can confirm location in the published novel.


Eagland, Jane. (2010). Wildthorn. Digital galley obtained from NetGalley. Publisher:  Houghton Mifflin Harcourt.

Author profile: http://www.litfest.org/resources/flax_resources/Flax/eagland/eagland.htm

4 thoughts on “Wildthorn by Jane Eagland

    • Hey Katie! Summer seems to be flying by and I haven’t taken any vacation yet 🙂 I highly recommend Wildthorn – it really got me going! It was fantastic!

  1. I saw that you are a part of the Debut Author Challenge! That is so amazing that you are supporting debut authors and I only recently found out that I am going to be one!!! I wanted to ask if you wouldn’t mind heading over to my blog and giving me your opinion. As a blogger turned author I would really appreciate it and the publisher is still giving out ARCs so you might have a chance at a free copy! Thank you and I hope you will stop by and check out The Thirteenth Chime!

    Sincerely,
    Emma Michaels
    http://EmmaMichaels.Blogspot.com

    P.S.- My release date if Friday the 13th (August this year) isn’t that crazy?

Leave a Reply

