13 to Life by Shannon Delany

This one grabbed from the very start and kept me going till the end!  Great book!  But I have to admit that I really didn’t like how it ended.  Yes – somehow I missed it was the first in a series and I could feel that as I got closer and closer to the end and the action kept picking up as the number of pages got less and less.  I felt that there was something unresolved and well I’ll have to wait for the second installment to get a better handle on it.

I really enjoyed Pietr and Jessie  – just wonderful characters.  I really enjoyed how we didn’t know the background on Sarah and Jessie until we were well into the story – and I’m really really hoping that Jessie says something!!!  It was a great love story with very unique twists and turns – fabulous!

So…  what is it about – Jessica recently lost her mother and  is really trying to get her life back in order.  At the beginning of the school year she’s called down to the school office and told she needs to play guide to the new guy, Peitr.  Her first instincts are not very favourable towards him but as she gets to know him she starts to fall for him.  Only problem is that she’s encouraged him to go out with her best friend, Sarah.  The story is wonderful!  and alright if it must go on to another book – I can’t wait for it!

Recommended

Ages:  14 and over


Favourite quote:

” ‘ A good writer should get people to feel something, I guess.’ ”          p. 10

I usually don’t add a comment to my quotes – but I found this one really early in the book – and I felt like it was a direct message from the author.  And you know what?  I DID feel something with this book!  So I would say “Mission accomplished! Shannon Delany!”


Delany, Shannon.  (2010).  13 to Life. New York, NY:  St. Martin’s Griffin.

Author website:  http://www.shannondelany.com/

Leave a Reply

