The Mermaid’s Mirror by L.K. Madigan

My first mermaid story ever and I enjoyed it!  I have to say it took a long time to get to the mermaid part of the story, but I enjoyed reading about Lena’s story.  Her great desire to surf when her father was set adamantly against her learning.  Her relationship with her friends and her little brother – and of course the unknowing of what to do with her boyfriend, Kai.  It was a fun story to read.

So – what was it all about?  Selena, like any young teenager was looking forward to her sixteenth birthday and spending time with her friends at the beach.  However, lately she’s found herself sleep-walking to the beach, and experiencing wierd feelings and begins to worry her parents.  During one of her nightly trips to the beach she believes she sees a mermaid and only then does she begin to deal with her past and her heritage by pushing her father for the truth about her birth mother.  The Mermaid’s Mirror is a friendly story of a teenager learning about who she really is and of a young, true love.

As I’d mentioned earlier I found the story leading up to Lean discovering her past a bit long but it kept me involved and intrigued.  It was one of those stories that I had to find out how it ended.  A great story!

Ages: 12 and up

Recommended


Favourite quote:

“As she stood in stillness, her soul opening like a night-blooming flower, words floated into her mind: ‘I beheld you, child.’ ”

Note: since this is a digital galley I will not publish page numbers until I can confirm location in the published novel.


Madigan, L.K. (2010). The Mermaid’s Mirror.  Digital galley obtained from NetGalley. Publisher:  Houghton Mifflin Harcourt.

Author website:  http://www.flashburnout.com/

One thought on “The Mermaid’s Mirror by L.K. Madigan

  1. Great review! I’ve been holding back on mine because I don’t really know how to word it in a way that would make sense and include everything. This was a really great book!

Leave a Reply

