Tyger Tyger by Kersten Hamilton

I adored this book!  Absolutely loved it!  I so enjoyed being immersed in the Celtic mythology  –  the author did such a wonderful job of moving us from “today” to the world of goblins that I never felt out-of-place.  I also loved the tension and “electricity” between Finn and Teagan and can’t wait to read more about them and to see if and where their relationship takes them – and yes I just discovered through an interview on another blog that there is a sequel – yippee!!!!.

Teagan, a sixteen year old girl has her whole life planned out – getting great marks in school, working at the zoo and no boy-distractions!  She knows where she wants to go with her life.  However, when her long-lost cousin Finn comes to live with them, her life gets turned upside down and she begins to learn about her true heritage.

I cannot say how much I truly enjoyed this story – it was unlike any I’ve read to date.  Ok it was my first goblin story and I loved it!  No matter what the backdrop of a story, a great author can always pull in the realities that a teen deals with and Tyger Tyger did exactly that – we saw Teagan deal with loss, true love, family history and family commitments.

Congrats Kersten – an awesome read and I cannot wait to hear more about Teagan and her adventures!


Favourite quotes:

“Tooth fairy: scary, because she sneaks up and steals things.  Bugs: not scary, even if they crawl on you.  Worms: scary, because they have no eyes.”

There are more things in heaven and earth, Horatio, than are dreamt of in your philosophy.”

Note: since this is a digital galley I will not publish page numbers until I can confirm location in the published novel.


Hamilton, Kersten. (2010). Tyger Tyger. Digital galley obtained from NetGalley. Publisher:  Houghton Mifflin Harcourt.

Author website: http://home.comcast.net/~kerstenhamilton/

2 thoughts on “Tyger Tyger by Kersten Hamilton

Leave a Reply

