The Dead Tossed Waves by Carrie Ryan

Ok I didn’t intend to read this one so soon – and so quickly – but once I started I could NOT put it down.  So how did I come by reading it in the first place?  There was no mention of it anywhere on my blog right?  Well…  my fantastic family bought me a Sony eReader for Mother’s Day – can you believe it?  And what better way to test it out than to buy a new book.  🙂  The Dead Tossed Waves by Carrie Ryan literally jumped out at me when I was browsing the eBook store.  Have I mentioned how much I enjoyed this book!

This book picked up a few years after the end of The Forest of Hands and Teeth (Ooooo that was a close one – I nearly gave away the ending to that one here – phew…).  We learn a lot more about Mary through her daughter who struggles through very similar yet different experiences than Mary.  I was shocked to learn more about the Sisterhood and maybe I respect them now – where I didn’t before.  Hmmm…  this is a tough book to describe without spoiling the first one – so maybe I’ll stop here.

I do have to add what will probably be a silly note – but it’s been nagging me.  So – I read my first “zombie” book back in the Fall and I really didn’t enjoy it!  I’ve read a few posts around saying that if you don’t like zombie books then you won’t like this one – but I think that’s wrong!!!  I loved these books and trust me Zombies I hate!!  When I’m reading these books I’m not reading about zombies – I’m reading about the relationships of these characters – their personal struggles and desires and no zombies!  So – if you’re like me and strongly dislike zombies – try these books – they’re great and not at all what you’d expect.  Ok I’ll step down now…

As I noted above – I was pulled into this story immediately – it was a great, easy and very descriptive read.  I felt like I was there with Gabrielle the whole time – hoping that Catcher would kiss her and then feeling the desire and anxiety for Elias – oh…  it was great!  If you’ve read The Forest of Hands and Teeth and are left wondering whether you should pursue this one or not – I’m telling you – you SHOULD read this one – you NEED to read this one….  and now that I’ve typed that in – I was a bit saddened by the fact that the next book is not due until next spring – yes Spring 2011.  Man that’s going to be another tough one to wait for.

In case you’re still wondering whether you should read or not here is the book trailer – enjoy!


Favourite quotes:

“… The lack of control.  That’s what I’ve started to learn about this world.  It might give, but it always takes away.”    p. 29

“Until this moment standing by the ocean when I realize that my body is like the planets, the center holding every other part spinning around it.  Remove the crater and everything else collides and falls away.”     p. 61

“I realize that life is risks.  It’s acknowledging the past but looking forward.  It’s taking a chance that we will make mistakes but believing that we all deserve to be forgiven.”     p.  254


Ryan, Carrie.  (2010).  The Dead Tossed Waves.  New York, NY:  Delacorte Press.

Author website: http://www.carrieryan.com/

Leave a Reply

