Bleeding Violet by Dia Reeves

A lovely surprise!  I was a bit weary starting this book – I was curious about it and then reading some of the reviews got even more curious  – but for some reason I just wasn’t really sure about it –  until I started it 🙂 .   Now… I wonder why I was weary about it – it only took me the first couple of chapters to realize that I was hooked!  I really enjoyed the openness and frankness that Hanna brought to the reader.  You were never left questioning what she felt – and I respected that!  What really captured me about this story was the mystery and weirdness of the town of Portero, I really wanted to know what it was all about…  why?  who were the Mortmaine?

After Hanna’s Dad passed away she was sent to live with her Aunt Ulla.  But all she really wanted was to be loved by her Mom.  So Hanna finds a way to live with her Mom in the small town of Portero, Texas.  What she discovers here are things that would “blow” anyone’s mind –  but…  since Hanna has lived the life of  a manic-depressive – there really isn’t too much that can “blow” her mind.  Through her desire to be accepted by her Mom and her new community, she meets Wyatt, a Mortmaine initiate, who finds it a relief that he can share parts of his strange life with Hanna.  This truly was a great story to read!

Recommended

Ages: 14 and up


Favourite quotes:

“Wanting you to connect doesn’t make you needy – it makes you human.  And everything worth having is risky.  Like, I can’t guarantee that I won’t hurt your feelings or hit you over the head again.  Those are the risks of having me for a daughter.”       p. 452

Another quote that appears throughout the novel that I really enjoyed was:

“Love is a trap.”


Reeves, Dia. (2010). Bleeding Violet. New York, NY: Simon Pulse.

Author website:  http://www.diareeves.com/

One thought on “Bleeding Violet by Dia Reeves

  1. I ended up putting this book aside once I got to where she started school. It was just getting too weird. But I’ve been curious as to what others thought of it and I keep reading positive reviews so I may need to pick it up again in the future when I don’t have so many books I need to read RIGHT NOW. I did like Hanna and her quirkiness though…
    Anyway, thanks for the great review!

Leave a Reply

