If I Stay by Gayle Forman

Beautiful…. Haunting….  Heart-wrenching…  Fulfilling…  I could go on!  I cried then laughed, smiled and cried again!  This is one story that stays with you!  I just love the way the story flowed – easy to read and easy to move from the present and back to Mia’s life.  I walked with Mia every step of the way – I agreed with her choices as she moved from one to another.  I lived this day with Mia it was written so well.

Mia is a seventeen year old with her whole life ahead of her, she’s looking at attending Julliard, she has a fabulous boyfriend, a beautiful best friend, and best of all – a family who loves her!  Everything comes to a halt though during a fateful family outing, now Mia needs to make a decision – Does she stay?  Or does she leave everything she knows?  I love the one statement at the back of the book and I think it captures the essence of the story:

Simultaneously tragic and hopeful, this is a romantic, riveting, and ultimately uplifting story about memory, music, living, dying, loving.


Favourite quote:

” ‘That’s poppycock,’ he would say when Mom recounted the story. ‘I did no such thing’ ”     p.  84   – I say “poppycock” all the time so it was funny to see someone else saying it 🙂

“Sometimes you make choices in life and sometimes choices make you.”        p. 192


Forman, Gayle.  (2009).  If I Stay.  Toronto, ON:  Penguin Group (Canada).

Author website:  http://www.gayleforman.com/

Leave a Reply

