The Awakening by Kelley Armstrong

The story of Chloe Saunders just keeps getting better and better.  This is just a great story that takes teen experiences and the realm of magic, werewolves, and ghosts – melts them altogether in a fast-paced and hard to put down book!  I love the way the story builds to a climax then it lets you go just a bit and then leaves you hanging – in a good way always wanting more!

Chloe, Tori, Simon and Derek are on the run from the Edison Group – a sinister group of individuals who believe they’re doing the right thing for these teens.  But Chloe learns some of their dark secrets.  She also learns more about her powers and her friends, especially Derek – ooo  I like this pairing – can’t wait to see what happens in the next book.

Recommended

Ages:  13 years and over

So I have to share – we went to the local Chapters the other day – and it was a struggle to NOT buy The Reckoning knowing that I’d be finished The Awakening in the next day or so.  Why didn’t I buy it?  Well – I think it’s pretty much decided that I’m going to head to one of Kelley Armstrong’s signing events…  I’ve never ever done this before.  I’m actually excited – let’s hope nothing happens between now and next week to change my plans.  This also means I have to wait a week before I can get to read more about Chloe and her adventures….


Favourite quote:

” ‘We have more reference books than this, naturally.  The rest are in the library, which you’ll visit soon.  However, this’ — he waved at the closet — ‘is what a public library would call its special collection, containing the rarest and most prized  volumes.’ ”    p. 46

Ok I have to explain this one, since it seems such a strange quote for me to pull.  As some of you are aware I’m just finishing up my MLIS and this week in my Collections course we were talking about Special Collections – so this quote was very timely and I just couldn’t resist 🙂


Armstrong, Kelley.  (2009).  The Awakening.  Canada:  Doubleday Canada.

Author website:  http://www.kelleyarmstrong.com/

2 thoughts on “The Awakening by Kelley Armstrong

Leave a Reply

