Cracked up to be by Courtney Summers

Oh man…  what a story – written in such a way that keeps you wondering – has you hating Parker in one moment and then feeling for her the next… What did Parker Fadley do that was so bad?  How can someone who has it all in high school, cheerleading captain, the perfect and popular boyfriend – lose it all?  Amazing book!  Had me in tears by the end – but oh so worth it!!!

The story did a great job of showing us how one teenage girl chose to deal with all the pressures she’s managed to self-impose.  Turns out that you cannot be perfect, you have to learn to be human, make mistakes and learn to deal with them.  Parker chose a very lonely route but also learned that it was a much harder route than she expected –  her friends were often around to pick her up – against her will.

I really enjoyed this book, as I did Courtney Summers’  Some Girls Are. Courtney has a great talent for grabbing the reader from the get-go and never allowing us to let go until the very end.  I would highly recommend this book!

Here’s the Book trailer 🙂


Favourite quote:

“I want unity and disparity here, people!”    p. 36


Summers, Courtney. (2009). Cracked up to be.  New York, NY: St. Martin’s Press.

Author website: http://courtneysummers.ca/

2 thoughts on “Cracked up to be by Courtney Summers

  1. I really loved this book, I liked they way it was told, the flashbacks, her voice, everything was sooo good. Going on my to be bought list for sure! Which of Summers books do you prefer?

  2. Funny I was just reviewing what I’d written and the two book trailers I found – I’m really not sure… Some Girls Are was sooo real…. but I much preferred the way Cracked up to be wouldn’t let me g0 – as you say the way it was written – really grabbed me! You never knew the “reason” until the very end…. How bout you?

Leave a Reply

