Wake by Lisa McMann

What an interesting plot, it was very different from the books I’ve read so far.  Jane, a seventeen year old is drawn into the dreams of people who are sleeping near her.  This ability started back when she was eight years old.  Think about it – can you imagine? Knowing what people are dreaming is one thing, but being able to take part to some extent in their dreams is quite fascinating. Over the years, Janie learns a few secrets about the people who look down on her and very personal secrets of her closest friends.

I’ll admit that I struggled reading this book for the first quarter or so.  I’ve tried to figure out why and I think I’ve got it!  Many of the books I’ve read lately were written in the first person, this one was not.  Hmm…  now that I’ve written that down – makes me realize that we are the observer in both Janie’s life and her dreams – very much like she is of her dreamer’s experiences.  Was this done on purpose???

I’m definitely looking forward to reading the next two books in the trilogy, Fade and Gone. Reading reviews on Gone is what convinced me to consider this book – so of course I’m going to finish these now 🙂

I also realized that I enjoy watching digital book talks, especially the ones hosted by the authors.  Lisa McMann has one of these posted on her website, and I have to say that I was a bit worried  about this one – since it was titled Gone on her website (the last book in the trilogy).  I didn’t want to learn too much about the next books that would sway me away from reading them – but it turns out that this video is really a book talk for the series.  Take a look:


Favourite quote:

“Dear Janie,
Thank you for my dreams.
From one catcher to another,
Martha Stubin”
p. 129


McMann, Lisa.  (2008).  Wake. New York, NY:  Simon Pulse.

Author’s website:  http://lisamcmann.com/

One thought on “Wake by Lisa McMann

  1. Pingback: Review: Wake by Lisa McMann Audiobook - The Busy Bibliophile

Leave a Reply

