Can you be addicted to reading? Am I addicted to reading YA?

How do you decide if you’re addicted to something or not?

Well let’s start with a definition for addiction… I found one that says: “The condition of being habitually or compulsively occupied with or involved in something”.

So let’s work through it:

  • I start a good book and it’s with me until I finish it
  • I go visit the Library and always come home with at least another 5-6 books
  • I go walking through Chapters and always come home with 1 or 2 new books
  • I check my Blog and the Blogs I follow at least once a day and maybe twice a day now to see what new titles that I’d like to read – that feeds my Chapters’ trip

I’m afraid that I can match the four points I’ve listed above with that definition of addiction I found. So – I’ll concede and say YES I believe I AM indeed addicted to reading YA materials. I habitually obtain new YA books, whether from a library or store, I am preoccupied with many of the books I read, and I find the more I read the more I want, almost need, to get involved.

I know I said I’d update my polls every week on a Friday, but I can’t resist – I’d like to know how many of you feel the same way and are willing to admit that you too are addicted to reading.

One thought on “Can you be addicted to reading? Am I addicted to reading YA?

Leave a Reply

