Some Girls Are by Courtney Summers

Oh my goodness!  What a powerful and scary story – I loved it!  It was an extremely tense read and one that I struggled putting down at times.  It was scary in the sense that I’d like to believe that this just doesn’t happen in our society and time – but I’m not sure that’s the case.  Regina Afton was on top of her game, she’s Anna’s best friend and at the top of the social ladder in her high school until one fateful night.  Regina is designated driver for her friends, runs into trouble and turns to a friend who masterminds her fall from the social ladder.  Regina struggles with her past actions and starts to develop an ally when everything comes crashing down around her.

It’s a powerful, powerful and tense story about bullying in what appears to be a very typical high school.  It’s brutal but has a great purpose.  I believe this is a book that should be read by all teens, give them an inner perspective of the bully and the damage the social ladder can elicit to the person. I really enjoyed how Regina dealt with her inner demons, it really isn’t until the end when I think she understands.  It’s truly amazing how revenge and anger blinded her – ok I need to stop – I could go on about this story for a while it had such an impact!

I would highly recommend this book to a broad but probably older teen audience.  I would also suggest that teachers and parents alike take a read.  I think everyone can take something away from this book.  I would however, caution that there is a lot of swearing in this book – but I felt it added to the story and its overall effect.

Here’s the Book trailer:


Favourite quote:

“Because she was so nice and warm and funny and caring and she listened, and I just wanted her to like me, because everyone here hates me, and the people that didn’t, like Anna, made me hate myself.   So I….just wanted her to think I was good.  And I didn’t tell her about what I did to you or Liz because I really, really liked her and I didn’t want her to hate me too.”  p. 122


Summers, Courtney. (2009).  Some Girls Are.  New York, NY:  St. Martin’s Griffin.

Author’s blog:  http://courtneysummers.ca/

One thought on “Some Girls Are by Courtney Summers

  1. I just finished Cracked up to be, also by Courtney Summers, it was really good. It’s back logged on my review list, but it I loved it. I’ll have to give this one a try.

Leave a Reply

