Cross My Heart and Hope to Spy by Ally Carter

Ally Carter kept me laughing with the sequel to I’d Tell You I Love You But Then I’d Have to Kill You. Just imagine a group of girls attending a private spy school, oh sorry I mean, the Gallagher Academy for Exceptional Young Women, and out of the blue fifteen boys move into the East Wing of their school and join their classes.  The girls go from spending five minutes to get ready in the morning to one hour, they now have to contend with boys in class, but they also get the chance to learn about the inner workings of a boy with real specimens.  They can strive to answer questions such as:  What do they mean when they say this?  Or  What do they really mean when they do that?

I listened to this book during my weekly commutes and it was fantastic!  The situations these girls can get themselves into and how they learn about boys with Macey McHenry’s help is hilarious!  I am so looking forward to hearing the third book in the Gallagher Girls series, Don’t Judge a Girl by Her Cover.


Favourite quote:

“It’s one thing to know that boys are coming…someday.  It’s quite another to be enjoying a nice, relaxing meal and then turn around to see a mob of teenage testosterone moving your way! (I mean, hello, I was wearing a skirt with a stain on the butt).”

p. 87


Carter, Ally. (2008).  Cross My Heart and Hope to Spy  [sound recording CD]. Grand Haven, MI :Brilliance Audio.

Author’s website:  http://www.allycarter.com/

4 thoughts on “Cross My Heart and Hope to Spy by Ally Carter

  1. hey i have a homework on a book i like, so i was wondering if u knew any ‘more spyish’ quotes from cross my heart and hope to spy? thanks xx

Leave a Reply

