Such a Pretty Girl by Laura Wiess

I read this entire book on a Sunday morning which leads me to say it was a good book since I read it in one sitting.  But I also found it disturbing – but I think that was part of the attraction to the story.  It is a dark story and I think the cover even reiterates that fact – black background with a wilted rose.  I enjoyed it though and really was unable to put it down and even after starting another book, Meredith’s story is still with me.

I don’t want to give anything away about this story so rather than write my own little summary I’ve chosen in this case to copy the summary from the author’s website:

Meredith was promised nine years of safety, but they only gave her three. Her father, who was sent to prison for sexually abusing Meredith and other children in their small town, has been released on good behavior. He was supposed to be locked up until Meredith’s eighteenth birthday, when she could legally be free of both her abusive father and her delusional mother who dwells on a fantasy that the three of them will be a happy family once more.

But Meredith is only fifteen, and her father is out of prison…and her mother is bringing him home. And Meredith won’t let him hurt her, or anyone else, ever again. No matter what the cost.”

I’ll admit that I’m not sure who I would recommend to read this book though…  It’s a tough one – I enjoyed the book, see the value but not sure I would recommend it to my daughters – just a bit too dark.  Is this one directed more to adults perhaps?  I’m just not sure.  If my oldest daughter wanted to read it I wouldn’t stop her – but I probably discourage my youngest to read it.


Favourite quote (and one that I think pulls the story all together – at least for me):

“A victim soul is a pious individual chosen to absorb the pain and suffering of others.” p. 211


Wiess, Laura.  (2007).  Such a Pretty Girl. New York, NY: Pocket Books.

Author’s website: http://www.laurawiess.com/

3 thoughts on “Such a Pretty Girl by Laura Wiess

  1. Oh I’m soo glad that you read a Laura Wiess book, try How it Ends next, it’s a little happier (only a little though) . She’s just the most talent writer!

  2. It’s on my list 🙂 I’ve been reading so much about How it Ends – that I thought I’d better read one of her first books before I dive into that one – but it’s on my list 🙂

  3. I’ll just be so glad to have someone to talk about it with 🙂 I believe I have class with you tomorrow! see you then!

Leave a Reply

