Ray Bradbury’s Fahrenheit 451: The Authorized Adaptation by Tim Hamilton

Let’s start by saying I have NEVER read the novel Fahrenheit 451 – so I had no idea what to expect.  All I knew about the book was that some friends had to read it in high school and that it was viewed by some as controversial.  So when I saw the graphic novel version, I thought this would be a great way to get the gist of the novel and to expand my horizons by venturing into the graphic novel domain again.

Well…  it took me a while to understand what the story was about – even with the pictures it didn’t really help me at the start.  But once I caught on – then it was tough to put it down (as an aside – the Junior World Hockey Final game was on – so there was definitely a competition for my attention).  With respect to the graphic novel aspect of this product – I was taken aback and always will be – by the one of the first frames of Montag in the shower – yeowsers!    It surprised me and had me wondering whether this would be a theme throughout the book – and to my delight it was not.  The details in the art were amazing – it was intense, set the mood for the novel and I think really fit the storyline.  I also enjoyed the format, how it changed from page to page – so I wasn’t always looking at 6 panels in a page – it kept my hopping and moving along.

I also have to mention the introduction by Ray Bradbury.  He describes how this novel came to being and provides excellent suggestions to both teachers and students.  You’ll want to read this!!!

Overall I enjoyed this graphic novel and I think I have a bit of an understanding now behind this very popular book.  I suspect it’s  a novel that I will probably be reading in the near future now 🙂


Hamilton, Tim.  (2009).  Ray Bradbury’s Fahrenheit 451: The Authorized Adaptation. New York, NY:  Hill and Wang.

Leave a Reply

