Goth Girl Rising by Barry Lyga

I so enjoyed Barry Lyga’s Boy Toy that when I saw Goth Girl Rising at the local public library, I had to read it.  However, when I saw the title of a previous book, The Astonishing Adventures of Fanboy and Goth Girl, I was worried that I’d hopped into the middle of another series, but thought I’d try to read it anyways.  I was sooo  wrong…  well I can’t say I am truly wrong or not – since I have yet to read the first book – but I can tell you that I didn’t need it to get the full effect of this one!

Kyra Sellars is a 16-year-old teenager just trying to find her place in life.  She’s been sent away to a mental institute for 6 months after trying to kill herself, and when she returns, finds that everything is not as it was when she left.  She believes that her anger will set everyone straight, but slowly discovers that maybe …  just maybe…  she needs to rethink her situation.

I absolutely fell in love with Kyra, I felt her pain, her confusion and really enjoyed joining her on this journey of self discovery.  Moving from black goth girl to discovering her individuality was beautiful!  Standing alongside her while she dealt with her feelings for her Dad and Mom was extremely touching and hard.  Barry Lyga did an awesome job getting into Kyra’s head and encouraging us to join her and feel with her.

The link between Goth Girl Rising and Boy Toy was so subtle and quick, but it was there!  When there’s acknowledgement between the works of an author – it just increases my desire to read more. So on that note, yes I’ll be looking for a copy of The Astonishing Adventures of Fanboy and Goth Girl to read in the New Year.

Recommended

Ages: 16 and up


Lyga, Barry.  (2009).  Goth Girl Rising. New York, NY:  Houghton Mifflin.

Book Website:  http://www.barrylyga.com/new/goth-girl-rising.html

Leave a Reply

