Midnighters 3: Blue Noon by Scott Westerfeld

I finally found the time to finish Scott Westerfeld’s Midnighters Trilogy.  Following on the heels on the first two books, Blue Noon was action packed and mysterious – a good read.  For some reason though, it didn’t keep my attention as much as the first two.  I loved the premise of the series, the Secret Hour, the twenty-fifth hour of the day, but maybe I was looking for more?  To me, the story was almost repetitive, I don’t know…. I can’t put my finger on what I didn’t like.

I didn’t really like how it ended either, yes a bit unexpected and yet not – but there really was no finality to it – which ok I get may be a good thing – but it seemed to leave all the characters in a gray area.

The one thing that I really liked about this series – there was no gap in time, what I mean by this, the second book continued on to the next day from the first one.  The third one was a couple of weeks later, so it was great – easy to follow the flow of the story.  I’ve found with some trilogies the time lap from one book to the next is off making it hard for the reader to catch up.  I’m glad I finished the trilogy and look forward to my next challenge!

Leave a Reply

