Hush, Hush by Becca Fitzpatrick

When you’ve finished a book and you’re left with both a sense of happiness and a sense of anticipation – to me that’s a sign of a great book!  I adored this one – it pulled me in from the start and never let me go.  Patch and Nora’s relationship was wonderful to be a part of – watching them work through biology class to learning more about each other.  Becca Fitzpatrick found a way to weave modern-day high school classes and friendships with the darkness of the fantasy world of archangels.

I loved how this book ended, but then I read the fine print of the back jacket where it states:  “Find out more about Hush, Hush including when the sequel, Crescendo, will be available by visiting hushhushbooks.com” .  Oh goodness, a sequel???  Try finding information on it – nothing available yet – other than a note that it is due in the Fall 2010.  Be assured that I’ll be there waiting for it.  I just hope it’s as great as Hush, Hush, which by the way is Becca’s first novel.  Congrats!

I have to add that it was fun to read this book, it was easy to follow and just an overall pleasure and easy to get into the story.  The reference to Nephilim was really interesting – and maybe this is where YA stories are moving to – angels and their realm.  Cassandra Clare’s Mortal Instruments centres around the Nephilims so it was refreshing to read another story on the same lines.  Hmmm…  I think I am definitely drawn to this “genre” of YA materials.

Recommended


Fitzpatrick, Becca.  (2009). hush, hush. New York, NY:  Simon & Schuster BFYR.

Author’s website:  http://beccafitzpatrick.com/

7 thoughts on “Hush, Hush by Becca Fitzpatrick

    • Put Twilight away 🙂 I have to admit though I enjoyed Twilight – but looking back now I can’t help but see all the “issues” that folks are bringing to light – mind you I don’t think the kids are seeing them as we do. Sorry you didn’t enjoy Hush, hush though – have you read Catching Fire yet? You’re sure to love that one!

  1. Not yet, I put in on my christmas list the second I finished Hunger Games, isn’t the first one just so goood!!! I was the same way with Twilight, didn’t even notice until afterwards, now it’s all I can see!!!! Might be time for me to read some non YA fiction for a break!

  2. i loved this book. but i still cant figure out why the title is “hush hush”. For Twilight eclipse was named after a quote Jacob had said.. there was no quote in this book. i am very confused… :0

      • I have read the book over and over again and I agree I could never figure out why becca called it hush, hush oh, and I loved the book:)

Leave a Reply

