Pretty Little Liars by Sara Shepard

After reading a review of this book on Fairrosa Cyber Library of Children’s Literature blog I had a bit of a fright when I recognized the cover and remembered that I’d seen it in one of my girl’s bookshelves.  Yes, I bought this book about 3 years ago for my oldest and I figured I’d better read it and get a handle on its contents.

Yes it does deal with a lot of sticky situations that a teenaged girl could find herself in, relationship with her teacher, questioning whether she is gay, “coveting” her sister’s boyfriends, and losing weight unorthodoxly.  I was not as appalled as I thought I’d be reading it.  Although there’s no way in hades I’d encourage my youngest to read it!  So hearing that young girls in Grade Six are reading it – um – scary!  Well… let me rephrase that – maybe the parents should be more aware of the book’s content before encouraging their young ladies to read it.  They might be surprised!

I enjoyed the book – found it to be a quick and easy read, and really enjoyed the intrigue of it all.  What really happened to Alison?  What is the “Jenna Thing”?  I have to admit that I am curious enough to traipse upstairs and encourage the next two book in the series to wander into my room….


Shepard, Sara. (2006).  Pretty Little Liars. New York, NY:  HarperTeen.

Book Website:  http://www.prettylittleliars.com/

Leave a Reply

