Blue Bloods by Melissa de la Cruz

I keep being drawn back to vampire stories.  This one was different though, Melissa de la Cruz puts another interesting twist to the whole vampire concept, talking about reincarnation and The Code that vampires live by. Did you know they don’t kill humans?  It’s against the Code.  I really enjoyed this view of the vampire theory, pulling in historic facts and making it truly believable.  The Blue Bloods as they’re known, have shared a life of wealth and position for over 400 hundred years and the family names have become synonymous with Manhattan.

Schuyler Van Alen is invited to be a member of an exclusive club where she learns about herself and her classmates.  Entry to this club also helps her learn why Jack Force, the most popular boy in her school starts to pay more attention to her.  Tragedy strikes their school, when a classmate is found dead and leads Schuyler, Oliver, her best friend, and Jack down a path where they uncover more myths about the Blue Bloods and their history.

You know, before I decide whether I will read a particular book or not, I always read the back cover or the inside jacket synopsis.  I’ll have to admit when I read this cover I thought this was going to be a very typical vampire story, you know the type, girl meets cute vampire boy, falls in love and well… you know the rest.  I was pleasantly surprised by this book, because it wasn’t at all what I was expecting.  It was a refreshing view of the vampire world, it held my attention, it introduced a bit of romance, a lot of intrigue and it ends with you needing to know the answers to this new mystery.  I think De la Cruz did a wonderful job with this book and I am looking forward to reading the next book in the series, Masquerade.


De la Cruz, Melissa. (2007).  Blue Bloods.  New York, NY: Hyperion Paperbacks.

Author’s website:  http://melissa-delacruz.com/index.php/books/title/blue_bloods/

Leave a Reply

