Pretties by Scott Westerfeld

PrettiesAs I noted in my thoughts on the Uglies by Scott Westerfeld – I had to read the second in the series – the cliffhanger at the end of the Uglies was just too much to let go.  So yes – in less than a week I was able to read the Pretties.

The fast pace of this book kept up with its predecessor.  Tally Youngblood the heroine or trouble-maker, depending on how you look at things, continues to be the focus of this book.  Her desire to make things better always seem to complicate her situation.  She manages to … let’s just say – leave a path of “Tally” behind her.

By the end of the first book, you’re left feeling like you know Tally and Shay very well – then in the second book, you see another side of them, sort-of…  read the book you’ll understand what I mean.

I really enjoyed this book, although the ending didn’t leave me with the same urgency to read the third book in the series, Specials, as did the first.  Think I’ll have to return to reading my last book on the reading list before I venture out to continue the story of Tally Youngblood.

Recommended

Ages: 13 and up


Westerfeld, Scott. (2005).  Pretties. New York, NY:  Simon Pulse.

Author’s website: http://www.scottwesterfeld.com/author/books.htm

Leave a Reply

